Is Sony BMG Cybersquatting Idol Domain Names?

Thumbnail image for AustralianIdol.jpgGiven that last year Sony BMG could barely bring themselves to sign Idol winner Natalie Gauci (and then half-heartedly offered a contract to Matt Corby, which he duly rejected), one could assume the grand old days of five or six finalists ending up with a deal of one form or another were well and truly over. But could the label be placing its bets on certain Idol ‘08 contestants’ future success by cybersquatting, if you will, their official domain names? One eagle-eyed Defamer informant seems to think that’s the case. So said the mysterious and no doubt handsome Robert in an email to us:

After watching the first episode I decided to look up some of the contestants domain names and found that Sony was the owner.



1. BROOKEADDAMO.COM
2. AMANDAGRAFANAKIS.COM
3. nicolebanks.com.au
4. thanhbui.com.au
5. markspano.com.au
6. CHRISLYNHAMILTON.COM
7. BROOKEWILKIE.COM
8. wesleycarr.com.au
9. sophiepaterson.com.au
10. JAMESSPARGO.COM
11. jonnytaylor.com.au
12. KAYLAVANZETTA.COM
13. MITCHELLSTEELE.COM
14. IRAESCHWENKE.COM
15. JADENDOWD.COM
16. SOPHIEPATERSON.COM

Naturally, we hopped on domainwhitepages.com, and Robert’s tip checks out.

So, what does this tell us about Idol this year (if anything)? (Although don’t go thinking the division between dot-com and dot-au holds a clue to potential export potential; there are just more Mark Spanos in the world than there are Amanda Grafanakises, evidently.) Sony BMG have a hunch are going to go on to big things, or is their “hunch” driven by their business acumen – are the contestants going to have to cough up to Sony BMG to buy back their domains? (When you’re a struggling waitress with a dream to be like your idol Whitney Houston, those registration fees don’t come cheap!) Did Sony BMG register your domain name? You know our name, look up the number!

Comments

  • SimianSays

    I love this! Great detective work Robert and Clem!

  • thomasr

    It’s only cyber squatting when you buy it without permission.

    You can bet your bottom dollar that somewhere in the fine print you have to sign that over as part of the deal to even appear on the show. Who is going to say no? (apart from the chiropractor guy- my new hero!)

    Sony have form in this regard- silverchair, when signed to murmur (sony subsid) deliberately made their main website chairpage.com as they did not own silverchair.com

    Thats how I would do it: wesleycarrwebsite.com or wescarrweb.com would be where I would set up my site were I young Wes.

    Tom

  • Toady

    I can’t remember who it was but someone a few years ago had the same name as a porn star… and the Telstra site pointed to the wrong (porn) address. Nice.

    Back to my point – Anyone who wants to be famous and doesn’t already own “.com” is an idiot.

Post Your Comments

Got something to say? There are two ways to comment:

1. Guests

Click here to comment instantly.

2. Facebook Users

Click below to comment using your Facebook account.

We're looking for comments that are interesting, substantial or highly amusing. If your comments are excessively self-promotional, obnoxious, or even worse, boring, you will be banned from commenting. All comments are moderated.